Lifetimes (5+)

Lifetimes: The Beautiful Way to Explain Death to Children

Author: Bryan Mellonie & Robert Ingpen

Recommended age group: 5-8 years

Description:Lifetimes talks about beginnings and endings. And living in between. A beautiful way to explain death to children. It discusses death of different things: people, animals and plants. A beautifully illustrated book that explains that all living things have their own special Lifetimes.

Death Is Stupid (4+)

Death Is Stupid

Author: Anastasia Higginbotham

Recommended age group: 4-12 years

Description: Designed by hand in collage form from recycled paper bags, and embellished with jewels and fabric, forming a wonderfully different visual effect. This book is used in our older Camp Magic groups, it is very open and straightforward in its language. It doesn’t talk down to the reader but validates their fears and feelings in a real way. and it talks about the real issues of death and grief without coating it with names or sayings.

The Heart and the Bottle (6+)

The Heart and the Bottle

Author: Oliver Jeffers

Recommended age group: 6-10 years

Description: A gorgeous book that is more vague about loss (showing an empty chair where once her dad sat) to explain death. To save herself from further hurt she places her heart in a bottle and wears it around her neck. She grows into adulthood very lonely and isolated, and it is not until she meets a young child who helps her bring her heart back where it should be and make herself feel whole again. *another book we use through our Camp Magic program for multiple age groups.

Chester Raccoon & The Acorn Full of Memories (3+)

Chester Raccoon & The Acorn Full of Memories

Author: Audrey Penn

Recommended age group: 3-7 years

Description: Using forest animals to highlight the story, this book helps young children understand the positive purpose behind funerals or memorial services, and how making memories can provide cheer and comfort during difficult times. It uses very simple language such as “his heart quit beating and his body didn’t work anymore”. It is backed up by colourful illustrations to keep their attention.

A Taste of Blackberries (8+)

A Taste of Blackberries

Author: Doris Buchanan-Smith

Recommended age group: 8-12 years

Description: This is an older book, first printed in 1973, however it has stood the test of time for helping children grieve. The story centres around Jamie who is always getting into mischief with his best friend. After a prank goes wrong, killing Jamie, it leaves his friend to face many difficult thoughts and questions – including how he will continue doing all the things they loved doing together.

Sad Isn’t Bad (4+)

Sad Isn’t Bad: A Good-Grief Guidebook

Author: Michaelene Mundy

Recommended age group: 4-8 years

Description: Sad Isn’t Bad offers children of all ages a comforting, realistic look at loss–loaded with positive, life-affirming helps for coping with loss as a child. It’s a book that promotes honest and healthy grief–and growth. **This book contains references to God.